Casa Editrice Longanesi&C.


Founded in 1946 by Leo Longanesi, the publishing house was acquired by Messaggerie Italiane in 1977 and has been a wholly owned subsidiary of the GeMS group since 2005. From the moment the driven and creative Mario Spagnol was appointed Editorial Director by Luciano Mauri in 1980, Longanesi has stood out for its unconventional and independent publishing choices, distinguished for the rare ability to launch new national and international authors who have risen to the top of the best-seller lists.
The originality and diversity of the authors published by Longanesi are reflected in the vast scope of its catalogue, which ranges from literary fiction to the most varied genres of popular fiction. Alongside the works of Nobel Laureates Isaac B. Singer and William Golding, sit a wide variety of thriller, action, fantasy, and, above all, adventure titles, written by undisputed masters of their craft such as Clive Cussler, Patrick O’Brian and Wilbur Smith, who have made Longanesi the go-to brand for the genre in Italy.
As far as non-fiction is concerned, series like “Il Cammeo” or “Le Spade“, created to mark the 100th anniversary of the founder’s birth, have long been known for their titles ranging from art to current affairs and include the great works of modern and contemporary philosophers (Martin Heidegger, Karl Jaspers, Bertrand Russell, Oswald Spengler), always maintaining the company’s long tradition of independent and non-conformist thinking. Today, Longanesi’s list includes a huge cast of major international authors such as Jung Chang, Lee Child, Bernard Cornwell, Clive Cussler, Ildefonso Falcones, Jostein Gaarder, Elizabeth George, Arthur Golden, William Golding, Denis Guedj, Lars Kepler, Dennis Lehane, Patrick O’Brian, James Patterson, Anne Rice, Vikram Seth, Isaac B. Singer, Wilbur Smith, Patrick Süskind. Among its Italian authors, many have been translated and successfully published abroad: Isabella Bossi Fedrigotti, Marco Buticchi, Donato Carrisi, Roberto Costantini, Valentina D’Urbano, Chiara Gamberale, Alessia Gazzola, Giulio Giorello, Massimo Gramellini, Piergiorgio Odifreddi, Sergio Romano, Tiziano Terzani, Ilaria Tuti, Federico Zeri and Mirko Zilahy.

We use cookies.

This site uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By using this site, you consent to the use of cookies described in our Cookie Policy. Also read our Privacy Policy.